Some Thoughts on the Persecuted Church

April 2, 2008

It’s been awhile…I have not been able to write as much as I would like to lately. This post will probably be fairly short too.

Yesterday, as I read through the email update I got from Voice of the Martyrs last week, a couple things struck me. I read these stories of men and women laying their lives down to preach the gospel or to hear the Word of God, willing to be poor and despised for the sake of God’s glory and the name of Jesus Christ – even to the point of death. It made me think of the many verses in Scripture that pertain to people who give their lives for His sake – the hope that is theirs in eternity. Their blood will be avenged, they will reign with Christ forever and ever, they will receive the crown of life, they will wear robes that are pure white. And as I thought about the true hope of these people, I thought of what an honor it will be to serve these men and women in our eternal dwelling place. Certainly I have had it easier than they have so far on this earth! Why shouldn’t they be exalted in eternity? Of course, all glory and honor will go to our great Father, but these who have been tortured and murdered for Christ’s sake have much to look forward to! And in heaven, it will be the joy of the saints to see the martyrs ruling!

Also, I thought of this verse, which reminded me that I should not be satisfied with letting others suffer alone:

“Since therefore Christ suffered in the flesh, arm yourselves with the same way of thinking, for whoever has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin, so as to live for the rest of the time in the flesh no longer for human passions but for the will of God.” -1 Peter 4:1-2

I pray that all believers would be armed with the same way of thinking as Christ, ready to suffer for His name’s sake!

“For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that He might bring us to God…” -1 Peter 3:18

I am thankful for the willingness to suffer that is seen among many faithful believers in our world – pray that our Father would sustain them with a hope of something better by far. I pray that I would be armed with the same way of thinking, ready to suffer shame and even death for the sake of our Savior. Above all, I am eternally grateful for Jesus Christ, who suffered for our sins in order to bring us to God! May we be granted grace to follow His example.

Leave a comment