Listen!

April 14, 2008

I have been thinking about posting something on this topic for the last couple weeks, and I had a conversation yesterday which made me think I should.  It is not real deep, but in my opinion it is a very important topic for believers (really all people, but for Christians all the more).  It is a failure I notice in my own life, and see all around me.  And I think it has the potential to reflect poorly on Christ if we are not careful.

It seems to me that in this world there are not many good listeners.  I find myself frequently involved in conversations where it is clear that either I or the people I am conversing with have no actual interest in what the other people are saying, but are simply waiting for the person to shut up so that we can talk.  It is not uncommon to say something and moments later to be asked about the thing I just said – because the person I was talking to was not even listening to what I said.  Again, this is what I do at times too.  What does it silently communicate when we immediately pounce after someone is done talking (or while they are talking)?  I do not care.  I am glad that you are done because I have something more important to say now.  In the most extreme cases, I do not love you or care about you.  Many times we miss important words, important statements,  all because we are waiting for others to be quiet so we can have our turn to talk.

We can learn a whole lot about the hearts of people, about their struggles, their needs, their joys, if we would take the time to listen to them.  How much better could we minister the love of Christ to others if we could hear what they are saying!  There will be plenty of time when they finish talking for us to speak too!    And if we listen well, we may by God’s grace be better prepared to give a response that is wise and suitable for the moment.

I am not saying in this post that anyone who interrupts others at times is a poor listener – sometimes interruption is needed in order to correct fallacies.  But my challenge to myself and to all believers is to take time and listen.  You will be amazed at what you hear!  I am so thankful for those who model to me what it is to be a Godly listener, and I hope to grow in this by His power within me!

One Response to “Listen!”

  1. Cristi Says:

    Hey Jason,

    Your blog is something I always have to remind myself. For someone like myself who loves chatting and enjoying people, sometimes it’s hard to not talk about yourself and I constantly have to remind myself to ask questions about the other person and listen to their thoughts, in hopes of knowing their hearts and passions. Great post, thanks for allowing me to think about that!

    – Cristi


Leave a comment